The Grass Is Greener

So I was doing my daily hate-read of Refinery29 this morning.

This usually involves me clicking through some of their fashion slideshows and thinking “Are you fucking kidding me with this shit? What are they even selling here? Are they encouraging me to wrap myself in that hangover blanket of depression and sit in a cold miserable garden of mildew? Is that fashion?” Then I email any articles that particularly stick in my craw to the friend who introduced me to R29 in the first place. We have a back and forth thing now where we send each other the most obnoxious thing we’ve read on any given day. It’s like playing “What’s Grosser than Gross” but with ugly clothes.

Occasionally they do a profile series showing the “coolest” or “hottest” or “most awesome” bachelors a town has to offer. The San Francisco one was priceless and made it seem like San Francisco was just full of assholes. I shared the link with a male friend who said the article made him want to vomit on his own dick and marry his girlfriend, and while I thought his response was vulgar and gross, I totally saw his point.

So when I saw the profile on New York’s single guys this morning, I had to click through just to see if it’s as bad on the east coast as it is here (“It” in this case meaning both the dating scene and R29s journalistic talent).

And would you believe what I found was not a hateread at all! Instead I found, in a line from one of the guys they profiled, a quote that actually resonated with me! Here goes:

“The grass is greener when you water it, not on the other side”

It was a sweet reminder to spend energy on what’s around you instead of always looking for something else.  Nourish the life you have. Nourish the relationships you have. Nourish the community you live in. Of course this doesn’t always work and sometimes you do have to move on from things, but it’s a good starting point, and if the lawn goes to seed anyway, at least you can move away with a clear conscience, knowing you did the best you could.

That’s my Friday motivation, and I’m damn glad I got it from such an unexpected source! Now I have proof that all my hours of hatereading have not been in vain.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Author: The Dalai Loca

Ileana Shevlin is a rock-concert accountant and writer living in Brooklyn. Her work has appeared in Muni Diaries, spiral-bound notebooks, and Google Docs. She probably owes L.A. Unified School District an invoice and an apology for all the great stories she left in the margins of their textbooks along the way.

Leave a Reply

